Sheriff Landy Offolter announced on Monday that members of the McClain County Sheriff’s Department would be joining federal, state, and local agencies in the Oklahoma Western District Safe Trails Task Force. Undersheriff James Goins, Lieutenant Steve McMahan, and Detective Curtis Albertson have been appointed to the task force. The three were sworn in on January 25, 2021, by Western District U.S. Marshall Johnny Kuhlman.

The Safe Trails Task Force is a joint task force with the Federal Bureau of Investigations which gives specific federal credentials to investigators that allow them to investigate major crimes that occur in the Oklahoma Western District involving an Indian tribal member. It also grants investigators the authority to execute arrest and search warrants involving federal crimes.

Sheriff Offolter noted that joining the task force will be beneficial to the Sheriff’s Department, as well as the citizens of McClain County. Investigators can start significant investigations immediately, rather than standing by for assisting agencies. The task force members will also have access to federal tools and resources necessary to work the investigations and serve the communities